City Council

The city is governed by a council-manager form of government where the City Council sets city policy and the City Manager is responsible for city operations. 

The council consists of a mayor and six council members. All council members are elected for one three-year term, up to three consecutive terms. Elected officials are under a mixed system of single-member districts and at-large seats.  

At-Large Districts

At-large candidates are elected to represent the whole city; all voters can vote for candidates running for an at-large seat. At-large candidates may reside in any area of the city.

Single-Member Districts

A single-member district is a geographically defined voter district represented by a single elected official. Only registered voters that live within the specified district's boundaries can vote for candidates who run for seat in the district. Candidates must live in the  single-member district in which they run. 

Port Arthur District Map 

2022 City Council Meeting Schedule

Day Meetings

9:30 a.m.
City Hall Council Chambers
444 4th Street
Port Arthur, TX 77640

Night Meetings

5:30 p.m.
City Hall Council Chambers
444 4th Street
Port Arthur, TX 77640

Special Meetings & Executive Sessions

  • 4 p.m.
  • Meets the second Tuesday of each month
  • City Hall Council Chamber
    444 4th Street
    Port Arthur, TX 77640

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View most recent Agendas and Minutes



The City Council is made up of a Mayor and six Councilmembers. Four Councilmembers are elected from single member districts. Two at large members are elected for 3 year terms and the other Councilmembers and mayor are elected for 3 year terms.